Unknown Pond Peak

Hiked Unknown Pond Peak on 11/14/2016. The weather was quite warm for a mid November day, it was 46 when I started and 56 when I returned to the car. It was chillier up higher but I never put any fleece or wind shell on. This was a peak that I had walked by several times in the past but it never occurred to me to take the 15 minutes to go to the summit. Most of the hike was on trails with only the last quarter mile a bushwhack.

Start of the hike on Unknown Pond trail
Start of the hike on Unknown Pond trail

Most of the trail was pretty nice but one short section was sort of messy with difficult walking.

Unknown Pond Trail
Unknown Pond Trail

I reached Unknown Pond and looked across the pond to The Horn which is also a New Hampshire 100 Highest and New England 100 Highest peak which I climbed quite a while ago.

Unknown Pond and The Horn
Unknown Pond and The Horn

I left the pond and took a right hand turn onto the Kilkenny Ridge trail which I followed for a little more than quarter mile and then quickly climbed through the woods to the summit of Unknown Pond Peak.

Summit canister
Summit canister

After leaving the summit I went back to the pond and ate my PBJ in the sun on the shore.

Unknown Pond
Unknown Pond

I walked back down to the car enjoying the bright sunny day and warm temps. Only 9 peaks left to finish the New Hampshire 100 Highest.

One thought on “Unknown Pond Peak

Leave a Reply

