North and South Kinsman and Cascade Brook Trail

Hiked North and South Kinsman and Cascade Brook Trail on 7/16/2016. This finished “The Grid over 60”, Redlining and Calendar Days. It has been a long time coming but it was worth the wait. The forecast was for a sunny day but it was overcast most of the day except for 1 little shower we stayed dry. A group of about 10 fellow Grid finishers joined me on the hike. We started on the Franconia Notch Bike trail and then to Cascade Brook trail. My wife Amantha joined us for that portion of the hike.

Start of the hike on the Cascade Brook trail
Start of the hike on the Cascade Brook trail
Amantha with me at the end of the redlining portion of the hike
Amantha with me at the end of the redlining portion of the hike

There is an immediate stream crossing at the end of that section which I somehow manged to fall into the stream. No damage was done.

Slipping off a rock into the stream
Slipping off a rock into the stream

We continued up another section of the Cascade Brook trail until we got to the Kinsman Pond trail which we followed up to Kinsman Pond and the shelter.

North Kinsman from Kinsman Pond
North Kinsman from Kinsman Pond
Kinsman Pond shelter where we waited out a brief shower
Kinsman Pond shelter where we waited out a brief shower

We then went up the Kinsman Ridge trail to the top of North Kinsman which completed the Calendar Day list.

Me on the summit of North Kinsman
Me on the summit of North Kinsman

Then it was the short hike over to South Kinsman and the finish of “The Grid over 60”.

Running the gauntlet of hiking poles
Running the gauntlet of hiking poles
Time for a PBJ
Time for a PBJ
Fellow Grid finishers on South Kinsman
Fellow Grid finishers on South Kinsman
Even Pepper joined in the fun
Even Pepper joined in the fun

The clouds cleared and we had some views from South Kinsman.

View from South Kinsman
View from South Kinsman

We had all decided that we didn’t want to descend on the Kinsman Pond trail, it was very rocky with lots of slippery moss and a stream running down it for long sections. I had done the trail before but it was in the winter and it was a nice smooth path with all of the snow. So we went down the Fishin’ Jimmy trail to the Lonesome Lake hut and then down the Lonesome Lake trail.

View from Lonesome Lake to the Franconia Ridge
View from Lonesome Lake to the Franconia Ridge

We all got back to our cars and enjoyed a party of Grid Dogs supplied by Bill and Diane Schor and other goodies that everyone brought. Ed Hawkins gave me my patches for Redlining and Calendar Days. There is no patch for “The Grid over 60”.

Start of the hike on the Cedar Brook trail
Grid dogs and patches at the parking lot

It was great to finish the 3 lists and it was also great to have so many friends with me that have joined me on many of the hikes. It’s now time for some other lists.

Photo credit to Bill Schor and John Gutowski

3 thoughts on “North and South Kinsman and Cascade Brook Trail

  1. First, and most importantly, congratulations on the amazing, unthinkable, unimaginable accomplishment!! As unbelievable as it may sound, I was on the peak of South Kinsman on the same day, at the same time, that you completed your Grid/Red Line journey. In your group photo on the summit, titled “Fellow Grid finishers on South Kinsman”, I was actually sitting by myself off to the right of the camera angle.

    On my way back down prior to reaching North Kinsman, I ran into a member of your hiking party and he told me all about The Grid and The Red Line, and the fact that this peak and hike had completed both your over 65 grid, as well as your red line.

    I am embarrassed to admit, that I only somewhat remember the gentleman’s name, but I know he’s the one in the far left of the ‘hiking pole gauntlet’ photo. He’s also on the far left of the Kinsman shelter image. He’s also pictured in the far right of the parking lot photo.

    My name is Dean, I was hiking alone that day, till I met up with him and more or less hiked together from the peak of North Kinsman, back down to Lonesome Lake.

    Would it be possible for you to share my contact info with him (provided while posting this reply)? He helped me a lot that day (not the least of which was showing me the way to lower ledge of North Kinsman) and I would enjoy enjoy being able to contact him, thank him once again, and hopefully one day meet up again along the trails. (I believe his name was Rich or Bill? UGH! I can’t remember)

    Thank you very much. Once again, congratulations on your incredible accomplishment. You’ve all inspired me to continue my journey to conquer all 48, but I’ve also printed my own Grid, and started to fill in the dates. Gotta start somewhere!!

    Safe hikes to you.
    -Dean

    Like

  2. I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours these days, yet I never found any attention-grabbing article like yours.

    It’s beautiful value enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made just right content material as you
    probably did, the web will probably be much more helpful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

