East and West Garfield Ridge Peaks

Hiked East and West Garfield Ridge Peaks on 6/28/16. These are both New Hampshire 100 Highest Peaks. This was mostly a trail hike on the Gale River and Garfield Ridge trails with two short bushwacks to the summits. I have walked past these summits several times in the past but didn’t realize they were on any hiking list. It was a bright sunny day and a little bit warm and humid but not too bad. The mosquitoes were buzzing around down low but no bugs up higher. Encountered several AT thru hikers on the Garfield Ridge trail and also hikers traveling between the AMCs Greenleaf and Galehead huts. I had read in an old trail report that there was an opening off the trail to get to the summit of the East Peak. I couldn’t find it although once I got into the thick spruce I did find a pretty good herd path that went directly to the summit. There were good views from the summit as there was a nice ledge to stand on. I was the second person this year to sign the summit register.

South Twin from Garfield Ridge East Peak
South Twin from Garfield Ridge East Peak
Garfield from Garfield Ridge East Peak
Garfield from Garfield Ridge East Peak
Galehead Hut from Garfield Ridge East Peak
Galehead Hut from Garfield Ridge East Peak

After returning to the Garfield Ridge trail I followed it for about a mile to do the next bushwack to the West Peak. Again there was no evidence of any path to the summit so I just picked what looked like the most open spot to enter the woods. It was open woods for a little while but then got into some pretty thick spruce. I got to what I thought was the summit but there wasn’t any register. There looked like there was a slightly higher spot so I made my way over there and sure enough there was the register. I was the first person to sign in this year. No views from this summit, just trees.

Summit register on Garfield Ridge West Peak
Summit register on Garfield Ridge West Peak

I made my way back to the trail and managed to come out about 5 feet from where I went in. Sat down and had my PBJ and had an amusing conversation with a thru hiker who was not at all happy with how tough the AT was in New Hampshire. I didn’t have a whole lot of sympathy. Only 32 peaks left to finish the New Hampshire 100 Highest list.

Leave a Reply

